MotoGP

47 months ago

 - via web

- Story

The 2020 MotoGP is on in Jerez de la Frontera, Spain at the Andalusian race track!

The 2020 MotoGP season was supposed to begin with the Grand Prix of Qatar on March 8, but unfortunately, this was canceled due to the coronavirus outbreak. It's back this weekend with race 2. The MotoGP Andalusia Grand Prix takes place at the Circuito de Jerez on Sunday July 26 at 2pm CET local time. As well as hosting the fastest motorcycle riders in the world, Jerez is also famous for flamenco music and sherry production.    

Sunday is the second race of the Grand Prix of the 2020 MotoGP World Championship.   

After his first MotoGP win in the Spain GP, all eyes will be on Yamaha's Fabio Quartararo to pick up a Jerez double. But he faces some serious competition from teammate Maverick Viñales, who came in second in that race.
 

Six-time champ Marc Marquez will be fighting for the podium despite breaking his arm in a nasty crash last Sunday. Márquez broke his right humerus in the crash, and underwent surgery Tuesday. We're happy to hear he's doing well, but the accident has major implications for the Honda star's 2020 title defense. Although he sat out of Friday practice, he's hoping to be back on the bike in time for qualifying which, should it come to pass, would be an astonishing turnaround. He looked certain to miss MotoGP Andalusia and perhaps many more races, but the Honda rider will make a spectacular return after undergoing successful surgery in Barcelona. 

The status of Cal Crutchlow and Alex Rins was also unclear after they sustained injuries in the Spanish GP, but the pair have now been declared fit to race and will go again in Jerez.

Ducati riders Andrea Dovizioso and Danilo Petrucci spent today's two sessions working on improving the setup of their Desmosedici GP 20 bikes and warming up for Sunday's race.

Danilo Petrucci

Danilo Petrucci

Dovizioso closed the two sessions with the tenth time overall in 1:37.739 thanks to the fastest time set during this morning FP1. Today, the rider from Forlì had worked on different setup configurations intending to improve the performance of his bike, especially in the middle of the corners.

After having struggled all the weekend last week due to the after-effects of the crash suffered in the pre-race test, Danilo Petrucci was back at his full fitness today, as he focused on improving his feeling with the Desmosedici GP. The rider from Terni finished with the sixteenth time overall in 1:37.997, less than a second from today's pacesetter and only 258 thousands of a second from his teammate.

Andrea Dovizioso (#04 Ducati Team) – 1:37.739 (10th)
"I am satisfied with the work we have done during Day 1. We managed to improve my feeling with the bike a lot, especially in braking and entering the corners, but still, I can't be as smooth as I would like on the corner exit. Looking at the timesheets, we see that our rivals have also managed to make some progress compared to last weekend, so it will be important to continue to improve and find a good rhythm for the race. Tomorrow it will be crucial to do a good qualifying and be able to start from the first rows in the race."

Andrea Dovizioso

Andrea Dovizioso

Danilo Petrucci (#9 Ducati Team) – 1:37.997 (16th)
"Unfortunately in this heat, being able to improve the times in the afternoon is always very complicated. My feelings are slowly improving, but today I struggled mainly to turn the bike, and so, it will be an aspect that we will have to work on. Tomorrow morning's session will be crucial because being able to get into Q2 can make really a difference ahead of the race. The goal now is to be able to be fast immediately in FP3 and get a good result in qualifying."

Watch all this weekend's action from Jerez

The NBC Sports Network is the U.S. home for the 2020 MotoGP season, though some of the races — like last week's Spanish Grand Prix — will be shown on tape delay. Thankfully, this weekend's second race at Jerez is not one of them, so you'll be able to watch along live on NBCSN. Would you like to watch the 2020 MotoGP season online?  Here are a few options via Coparitech  

Sunday 26th July 2020
Warm Up: 9.20am CEST, 8.20am BST, 3.20am ET, 5.20pm AEST
MotoGP Andalusia: 2.00pm CEST, 1.00pm BST, 8am ET, 10pm AEST

You must be logged in to comment
Login now